Can children worship with adults?

We have determined that we can’t worship God when our children are beside us in the pew. Maybe they are a distraction. Maybe their behavior makes us as adults look bad. Whatever the case it is time to ask why? I read this interesting article by Scott Brown. In it Scott points out that many churches see a problem with children in the worship service. They are a distraction. I can’t worship God with a distraction.

It was several Sundays ago when I told my five year old to stay in her seat when the announcement would eventually come, “Children are dismissed for children’s worship.” By also playing the role as a usher, I had to leave my seat and I trusted both my nine year old and five year old to be obedient. My five year old was talked into leaving by her friends, so after the offering was collected, I had to run to the back to fetch my daughter so she could worship with me. Returning to my seat I was met with disdain by a scoffer sitting immediately to my rear. Now it was difficult to worship with that thought as the sermon was being preached.

Two things I took away from this article and I quote Mr. Brown below:

We care more about our concentration, than we care about passing the precious promises of God to the next generation. We narcissistically care more for our comforts than we do about the difficult task of training a mighty army of saints who would be willing to go to their death for their Savior.

Tragically, America is suffocating from the effects of day care raised children, latchkey children and fathers leaving their families in greater numbers than any time in history. We are experiencing the death of fatherhood as 40% of the children in America will go to sleep tonight without a father in the home. Parents will admit unashamedly that they would not have any more children because of the time required. Teenage pregnancy, divorce and abortion are some of the results of this “social experiment” with the family.

We, church, need to be at polar opposites of the world. We do not dilute ourselves by trying to entertain as the world does, nor do we treat our children as an afterthought.

