People are BIG and I have made them that way

Regarding other people, our problem is that we need them (for ourselves) more than we love them (for the glory of God).

Edward T. Welch, “When people are big and God is small.”

I can honestly say that I have made people big, too big, in my life.  I needed approval.  I needed acceptance.  I needed to belong.  When those people have failed me, and often times they have time and time again, I have felt let down.  I have felt unapproved.  I have felt isolated.

Solution?  According to Welch: “The most radical treatment for the fear of man is the fear of the Lord.  God must be bigger to you than people are.

Let this be my first step into defeating this sin and putting it to a permanent sleep.

“The fear of the Lord is the beginning of knowledge; fools despise wisdom and instruction.” Proverbs 1:7 ESV

